Frequently asked questions

Below you will find the most frequently asked questions. For any other demand, please contact us using our email address contact@pyguard.fr, we will be happy to reply !

General

  • Where to buy PyGuard ? How much does it cost ?

    Currently being developed, the PyGuard solution is yet not marketed to the general public. You can keep informed of the commercial release of PyGuard by following our project on social networks, or by subscribing to the newsletter.

  • Will PyGuard be available in my country ?

    PyGuard is not yet marketed, but will be available in France and Europe as a starter, and then worldwide.

  • Is PyGuard for professional or personal use ?

    PyGuard was designed primarily to protect individuals and their families. However, PyGuard can be adapted to a business environment and used to better protect corporate data, including monitoring if sensitive business or personal data are sent to the outside world. You are a professional and your company might be interested in our solution ? We invite you to contact us directly through our email address contact@pyguard.fr.

Technical

  • How to install PyGuard ?

    PyGuard is a device that connects to your router using an ethernet cable. It also requires to be electrically powered. Then, you only have to connect the devices you want to protect to PyGuard WiFi network, or directly with an ethernet cable. An installation guide will be provided to guide you step by step.

  • After setting up PyGuard, can I use the Internet as before?

    Yes, with the difference that you won't be tracked online anymore ! And in case PyGuard blocks a resource you want to access, you can simply disable it with one click from our plugin.

  • Will PyGuard slow down my internet speed ?

    In order to block unnecessary connections and personal data before they are sent over the Internet, PyGuard must analyze network traffic with artificial intelligence. If these operations take time, they are compensated by blocking trackers and advertising, alleviating up to one third of all connections made by your connected devices.

  • How many devices can I connect to PyGuard ?

    PyGuard supports up to 4 devices connected directly to it using ethernet. In WiFi, PyGuard does not impose any other limits than those of the protocol itself, and therefore supports up to 32 connected devices.

  • Does PyGuard work on smartphone and tablet ? (Android et iOS)

    Yes. When you are outside your house, the PyGuard application installed on your phone allows you to redirect your phone's traffic to your home using a VPN to extend the protection of your data wherever you are.

  • Does PyGuard work with all connected objects in my home ?

    Yes, PyGuard is compatible no matter the operating system or the brand of your devices.

  • Can I deactivate PyGuard at any time ?

    Yes, you can deactivate PyGuard through the administration page, or through the plugin, for all your devices or only for certain websites. However, you will no longer be protected.

  • Do I need to install a software ?

    To limit software installation, PyGuard is operational as soon as it is installed. On the other hand, if you want to protect your devices outside of your home, you need to install an app on your phone. A plugin is also available to integrate PyGuard seamlessly with your browsing habits.

  • What will happen if I change my phone ?

    Your preferences are saved on PyGuard, so you won't lose any data. Simply pair your new phone to PyGuard's WiFi, and allow the new device to connect through the administration page.

  • Does PyGuard require updates ?

    Yes, PyGuard will benefit from updates in order to always keep up with new cybersecurity threats. Updates can either be automatic, so that you don't have to do anything, or accepted by hand, depending on your preferences.

  • Is PyGuard compatible with my antivirus ?

    Yes. PyGuard embeds a centralized antivirus that identifies and blocks threats coming from the Internet. However, a standard antivirus installed on your device will also protect you from offline threats, such as an infected file from a compromised USB key for example.

Security & privacy

  • Does PyGuard collect my personal data ? Is my data sold to third-party ?

    No, no, absolutely not! That would go against the philosophy of our project and our team. Our revenues are solely based on the sale of our solution.

  • Can PyGuard access my web browsing history ?

    PyGuard has access to all connections made on your network, in order to block unwanted connections. PyGuard only analyzes data that are strictly necessary, including personal data that is sent over the Internet. PyGuard works entirely locally and the data is processes is encrypted. Our solution has been designed to make external access to your data, including by us, impossible, while respecting the principle of "Secure By Design".

  • Does PyGuard comply with the GDPR ?

    Yes. We do not process nor collect any personal data without your prior explicit consent. As your data is stored locally, you can delete it any time from the PyGuard administration page. If you have any questions regarding the storage and processing of your personal data, please contact our Data Protection Officer Mr. Cyril BANOS, using the following email address DPO@pyguard.fr.

  • How does PyGuard secure my data ?

    Using a firewall and an Intrusion Detection System, PyGuard is able to detect any suspicious behaviour and to block potential threats, including internal ones. PyGuard embeds an antivirus, enabling the protection of your data, and blocking any threat to your connected devices. Also embedding a VPN, PyGuard protects your devices when your are outside, like your smartphone, laptop or smart watch, through to a secure external connection. Following a whitelist principle, only devices that you have manually authorized will be able to connect to PyGuard.

  • How does PyGuard protect me from hackers ?

    PyGuard blocks all unknown connections by default, and applies a barring policy. This means you must approve any new device trying to access your network, thus preventing any intrusion.

  • Can PyGuard access my personal files on my computer or smartphone ?

    No, PyGuard has no access to your personal data other than the one you register for monitoring. Moreover, PyGuard only analyzes the data that passes through it, and therefore has no way to access your devices, only the data they send over the Internet.

  • Why do I need different profiles ? How do I configure them ?

    On the internet, we are not willing to share the same information with every website we visit. It seems normal that our bank's website knows our identity, our contact details or our bank account. However, another bank, a forum, or a dating site should not have access to it. These profiles, which adapt to each visited website, can be configured through the PyGuard administration page.

Foire aux questions

Vous trouverez ci-dessous les questions qui nous sont le plus fréquemment posées. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter via notre adresse contact@pyguard.fr pour toute demande, nous serons ravis de vous répondre !

Général

  • Où se procurer PyGuard ? Combien ça coûte ?

    Actuellement en cours de développement, la solution PyGuard n'est pas commercialisée auprès du grand public. Vous pouvez vous tenir informés de la sortie commerciale de PyGuard en suivant notre projet sur les réseaux sociaux ou en vous abonnant à la newsletter.

  • PyGuard sera-t-il disponible dans mon pays ?

    PyGuard n'est pas encore commercialisé, mais sera disponible dans un premier temps en France et en Europe, puis dans le monde entier.

  • PyGuard a-t-il un usage personnel ou professionnel ?

    PyGuard a été conçu en priorité pour les protéger les particuliers et leur famille. Néanmoins, PyGuard peut s'adapter à un environnement professionnel et permettre de mieux protéger les données de l'entreprise, notamment la diffusion de données professionnelles ou personnelles sensibles vers l'extérieur. Vous êtes un professionnel et votre entreprise pourrait être intéressée par notre solution ? Nous vous invitons à nous contacter directement via notre adresse contact@pyguard.fr.

Techniques

  • Comment installer PyGuard ?

    PyGuard est un boîtier qui se branche à votre box internet via un câble ethernet. Il nécessite également d'être alimenté électriquement. Ensuite, il suffit de connecter les appareils que vous souhaitez protéger au réseau WiFi de PyGuard, ou bien directement avec un câble ethernet. Un guide d'installation sera fourni pour vous guider étape par étape.

  • Après avoir connecté PyGuard, est-ce que je peux utiliser Internet comme avant ?

    Oui, à la différence que vous ne serez plus traqués en ligne ! Et dans le cas où PyGuard bloquerait une ressource à laquelle vous souhaitez accéder, vous pouvez le désactiver en un clic depuis notre plugin.

  • PyGuard va-t-il ralentir ma connexion internet ?

    Afin de bloquer les connexions indésirables et les données personnelles avant leur envoi sur internet, PyGuard analyse le trafic réseau avec des mécanismes d'intelligence artificielle. Si ces opérations prennent du temps, elles sont compensées par le blocage des trackers et de la publicité, allégeant jusqu'à un tiers toutes les connexions faites par vos objets connectés.

  • Combien d'équipements peuvent être utilisés avec PyGuard ?

    PyGuard vous permet de connecter jusqu'à 4 équipements en ethernet directement sur le boîtier. En WiFi, PyGuard n'impose aucune limite autre que celles du protocole en lui-même, et supporte donc jusqu'à 32 objets connectés.

  • PyGuard fonctionne-t-il sur smartphone et tablette ? (Android et iOS)

    Oui. En mobilité, l'application PyGuard installée sur votre téléphone permet de rediriger le trafic de ce dernier chez vous via un VPN, afin d'étendre la protection de vos données où que vous soyez.

  • PyGuard fonctionne-t-il avec tous les objets connectés de mon domicile ?

    Oui. PyGuard est compatible quel que soit le système d'exploitation ou la marque de vos appareils.

  • Est-ce que je peux désactiver PyGuard à tout moment ?

    Oui. Vous pouvez désactiver PyGuard via la page d'administration ou via le plugin, pour tout vos appareils ou seulement pour certains sites. En revanche, vous ne serez plus protégés.

  • Est-ce que je dois installer un logiciel ?

    Pour limiter l'installation de logiciels, la solution PyGuard est opérationnelle dès l'installation du boîtier. En revanche, si vous souhaitez protéger vos appareils en dehors de votre domicile, il faut installer une application mobile. Un plugin est également disponible pour mieux intégrer PyGuard dans vos habitudes de navigation.

  • Que se passe-t-il si je change de téléphone ?

    Vos préférences sont sauvegardées sur votre boîtier PyGuard, aussi vous ne perdrez aucune donnée. Il suffira d'appairer votre nouveau téléphone au réseau WiFi de PyGuard, puis de confirmer l'ajout du nouvel appareil.

  • PyGuard nécessite-t-il des mises à jour ?

    Oui, PyGuard bénéficiera de mises à jour afin d'être toujours protégé par rapport aux évolutions du numérique. Les mises à jour pourront soit être automatiques, pour n'avoir aucune manipulation à réaliser, soit manuelles, en fonction de vos préférences.

  • PyGuard est-il compatible avec mon antivirus ?

    Oui. PyGuard possède un antivirus centralisé : il va identifier et bloquer les menaces en provenance d'internet. Cependant, un antivirus classique installé sur votre machine vous protège également de menaces hors-ligne, comme un fichier infecté par un virus en provenance d'une clé USB compromise par exemple.

Sécurité et respect de la vie privée

  • PyGuard collecte-il mes données personnelles ? Mes données sont-elles revendues ?

    Non, non, certainement pas ! Cela serait contraire à la philosophie de notre projet et de notre équipe. Nos revenus sont basés sur la vente de notre solution uniquement.

  • Est-ce que PyGuard peut voir mon historique de navigation internet ?

    PyGuard a accès à toutes les connexions effectuées sur votre réseau afin de bloquer les connexions indésirables. PyGuard analyse uniquement les données strictement nécessaires au service, notamment les données personnelles qui sont envoyées sur internet. PyGuard fonctionne entièrement en local et de manière chiffrée. Notre solution a été conçue pour rendre impossible tout accès extérieur à vos données, y compris par nous, en respectant le principe de "Secure By Design".

  • Est-ce que PyGuard respecte le RGPD ?

    Oui. Nous ne collectons aucune donnée personnelle sans votre consentement explicite préalable. Vos données étant stockées localement, vous pouvez les effacer à tout moment depuis la page d'administration de PyGuard. Pour toute question relative au stockage et au traitement de vos données personnelles, nous vous invitons à contacter notre Délégué à la Protection des Données (DPO), M. Cyril BANOS, à l'adresse mail DPO@pyguard.fr.

  • Comment PyGuard sécurise-t-il mes données ?

    Grâce à un pare-feu et à un Système de Détection d'Intrusion (IDS), PyGuard est capable de détecter tous comportements suspects et de bloquer de potentielles menaces, y compris internes. PyGuard possède un antivirus, permettant la protection de vos données, et bloquant tous dangers pour vos objets connectés. Dôté d'un VPN, PyGuard protège vos objets mobiles, comme votre smartphone ou montre connectée, grâce à une connexion extérieure sécurisée. Fonctionnant sur le principe de liste blanche, seuls les objets que vous aurez manuellement autorisés pourront se connecter à PyGuard.

  • Comment PyGuard me protège-il des hackers ?

    PyGuard bloque toutes les connexions inconnues par défaut, et applique une politique d'interdiction : c'est-à-dire que vous devez approuver tout nouvel appareil tentant d'accéder à votre réseau, prévenant ainsi toute intrusion.

  • PyGuard peut-il avoir accès à mes fichiers personnels sur mon ordinateur ou mon smartphone ?

    Non, PyGuard n'a aucun accès à vos données personnelles en dehors de celles que vous enregistrez dans l'interface. De plus, PyGuard n'analyse que les données qui passent par son boîtier, et n'a donc aucun moyen d'accéder à vos appareils, uniquement aux données qu'ils envoient.

  • Pourquoi ai-je besoin de gérer différents profils ? Comment les configurer ?

    Sur internet, nous ne sommes pas prêts à partager les mêmes informations avec chaque site web visité. Il est normal que le site des impôts ou celui de notre banque connaisse notre identité, nos coordonnées ou notre compte bancaire. En revanche, une autre banque, un forum, ou un site de rencontre ne devrait pas y avoir accès. Ces profils, qui s'adaptent en fonction du site visité, peuvent être configurés via la page d'administration de PyGuard.